8 Facts About Mount Kailash – The Abode of Lord Shiva

North Face of Mount Kailash

The mystical Himalayas have always been associated with holiness as they are considered the dwelling region of Gods and Sages. The Himalayas are filled with serenity, pureness, and divine energy.

As mentioned in various Sanskrit scriptures, Rishis, Gods, Demigods, and even Rakshasa had pleased supreme powers to receive their blessing in the Himalayas. Ancient texts such as the Vedas, Puranas, Ramayana, and Mahabharata all sing the glory and wonder of the Himalayas in unison.

Mount Kailash (Kailash Parvat) has always been considered the premier of all the mountains capped with snow because it is where Shiva resides with Devi Parvati and his two sons, Ganesha and Kartikeya as his favorite Nandi.

North Face of Mount Kailash
North Face of Mount Kailash

The Abode of Shiva, the holy peak of Mount Kailash (6,638 meters), is located north of the Himalayan barrier in western Tibet.

Ancient texts referred to as the cosmic axis, Mount Kailash is a sacred place not only for Hindus who believe it to be the Abode of Shiva but also for Buddhists. Buddhists identify it as the central peak of the world, Mt. Sumeru, representing the means to enlightenment as ‘The Father Mountain,’

Kailash is also a holy place for Jains, where the first Jain Prophet, Rishabdev achieved enlightenment. Thus, Kailash is not just a mountain but a sentiment and emotion towards sanity and spirituality.

Mount Kailash Facts

South Face of Mount Kailash
South Face of Mount Kailash

1. Sacred Mountain of Many Religions

Mount Kailash is the center of faith for four religions: Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, and Bon. The mountain is unclimbable to preserve the sanctity of the mountain and divine energies residing at the peak. A Tibetan monk named Milarepa supposedly reached Mount Kailash’s summit, and returning, he forewarned everyone not to disturb the God residing there.

2. Mount Meru – Sumeru Parbat

Mount Kailash is believed to be Mt. Meru from Hindu scriptures; however, many also believe it is a human-made pyramid, surrounded by other smaller pyramids in ancient times by some superhumans. It is also said that Mt. Kailash is hollow from the inside, and supernatural occurrences are also experienced in the mountain. In the northwest part of Kailash, a spiritual country called Shambhala resides.

3. Kailash Kora

Kora, also called circumambulation, marks the success of reaching Mt. Kailash. If you walk around Mount Kailash clockwise, it takes three days to complete the distance of 52km. A circumambulation is thought to clear all the sins done during a lifetime, while 108 circumambulations is a way to achieve nirvana or salvation.

4. Source of Knowledge

Many count Mount Kailash as the home of Shiva himself, but it is where Shiva has deposited all his knowledge. Moreover, Rishavdev, the first Prophet of Jainism, is also said to have rested all his knowledge and insights in Kailash, and so is the belief among the Buddhists. This is why Kailash is the source of Knowledge.

5. Axis Mundi

Kailash is also believed to be the Axis Mundi, the cosmic axis, the center of the earth, the pillar of the earth, or the world’s axis. The divine mountain is said to be where heaven meets the earth, and the point of its being the center of the earth can be mathematically proven.

The distance between the north pole and Mt. Kailash is the same as between Mt. Kailash and Stonehenge. The distance between the south pole and Mt. Kailash is twice the aforementioned distance; this corroborates the claims of Kailash being a Cosmic Axis.

6. Good and Evil Lakes

Lake Mansarovar
Lake Mansarovar

There are two lakes in the periphery of Kailash, and both contain their peculiar character. One is Lake Mansarovar, the highest freshwater body in the world, which signifies divinity and purity. It is believed that if taken a dip in Mansarovar, one’s sins will be washed away. On the other hand, Rakshas Tal consists of salty water without any aquatic life.

Rakshas Tal
Rakshas Tal

Interestingly, Mansarovar is a lake with good energy with beautiful blue and serene water. Rakshas Tal, counted as being formed by Ravana to please Shiva, is considered evil. Rakshas Tal often remains turbulent, even if there is no wind. It is said that Mt. Kailash standing between these two lakes symbolizes the presence of good and evil in people’s life. The lakes are also compared to Yin and Yang.

7. Source of Sacred Rivers

The Indus, Sutlej, Brahmaputra, and Karnali are the four sacred rivers that originate from the four sides of Mount Kailash. These four major rivers flow across Asia, and the huge population in the Tibet and Indian Sub-continents depends on the water from these rivers.

8. Four Faces of Kailash

The four faces of Kailash are not roughly shaped like that of other mountains, but it has four distinct faces aligned almost in four different directions. All the edges of each face are perfectly aligned to the cardinal points.

West Face of Mount Kailash
West Face of Mount Kailash

According to the Vishnu Purana, the four faces of Mount Kailash are made up of different jewels. The north is gold, the south is Lapis Lazuli, the east is crystal, and the west is ruby.


Mount Kailash is not just a mountain but the deposition of knowledge and learnings of many saints, mainly Shiva himself, who left them to guide humankind. The mysteries of Kailash are yet to be known, but its spiritual importance is much greater than the theories and mysteries.

There are different routes via which Mt. Kailash can be reached from Nepal and India. Mt. Kailash is a must-go destination for people seeking spiritual activation and natural serenity.