The 4 Elements of Astrology – Fire, Water, Earth & Air Signs

4 Elements of Astrology

Astrology is vast as it is not just about the 12 zodiac signs but also the four elements or tattvas. The four elements in astrology are Agni (fire), Jal (​water), Prithvi (earth), and Vayu (air). Although there are five elements of nature, astrology deals with four elements.

These elements are a cosmos’s building blocks, and each possesses unique qualities and forces (energy). The four elements of Astrology govern the three zodiac signs each. And, 12 zodiacs are classified under these elements based on the qualities they depict.

Astrological elements represent the feminine and muscular features of a zodiac. Like water and earth, signs represent femininity, whereas air and fire signs signify masculinity. Altogether, water, air, earth, and fire are the elemental signs of astrology.

Knowing the elements ruling a zodiac allows one to fully understand one’s true nature. Also, one can analyze the compatibility of a particular element with another when establishing a relationship. The appearance of elements in an astrological birth chart helps determine one’s personality and behavior.

The Elements of Astrology

4 Elements of Astrology

Every element has three modalities – cardinal, mutable, and fixed. These four life forces of the cosmos help to describe the 12 zodiacs they ruled on. Here’s a detailed explanation of zodiac elements, their functions, and the signs they rule.

RecommendedElements of Jyotish Shastra  

Water Signs

Water Signs has a heart as deep as an ocean. People born under the water signs are known for their emotions. They understand and analyze things and connect to people on a deep level. Unlike other elements, water signs believe in intuition, thus making them more spiritual.

Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces are the three zodiacs that fall under the water signs. Each one of the zodiacs in water signs possesses specific traits. But the qualities that bring them together are empathy and sensitivity. Water signs have great potential to become extraordinary artists as they have extensive power of imagination.

Cancer is a cardinal, Scorpio is a fixed, and Pisces is a mutable sign in Water signs. Cancer is all about caring and nurturing loved ones, whereas Scorpio understands things much deeper. Finally, Pisces are the most artistic and one of the most empathetic zodiacs in astrology.

Earth Signs

Earth signs outshine other elements when it comes to being realistic and practical. People having earth as an element in their zodiac birth chart are grounded and live in a materialistic world. Earth signs are the builders in astrology as they prefer to do work that is needed and complete with excellent stability and honesty.

The Earth signs’ zodiacs are Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. The attributes that link all the zodiacs in earth signs are their down-to-earth, hardworking, pragmatic nature. They believe in doing things that make sense rather than emotion, pressure, and overthinking.

Capricorn is a cardinal sign, Virgo is a mutable sign, and Taurus is a fixed sign. Taurus is one of the most dependable zodiacs and believes in stability and patience. Virgo is the logical reasoner and is presumed to be practical and sensible. Lastly, Capricorn is independent, laborious, and has faith in old traditions, making them very conservative.

Air Signs

Air signs zodiac are winds of changes, trends, and communication. The element of air deals with analytical reasoning, ideas, information, actions, and socialization. Air signs take a systematic and critical approach to analyzing situations and make decisions based on that rather than emotions.

Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius are the zodiac of air signs. All of the zodiacs in air signs have a great sense of communicating and thinking. They can analyze problems from every perspective and conclude that with justice.

Libra is a cardinal sign, Gemini is a mutable sign, and Aquarius is a fixed sign. Gemini is the most versatile as it can adapt to new circumstances. Libra believes in justice, communication, and taking action. Aquarius is all about being original and visionary. Besides, Aquarius has an extraordinary sense of examining situations or problems from a long distance.

Fire Signs

The fire element is an energy of creation, devotion, confidence, and fierceness. Individuals born under fire are passionate, brave, optimistic, and always ready to take action. Fire can be impulsive sometimes, which may lead them to difficult situations.

Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius belong to fire signs. They let their passion drive them rather than emotions and thoughts. In Fire signs, Aries is a cardinal sign, Sagittarius is a mutable sign, and Leo is a fixed sign. Aries, ruled by Mars – the god of war, ultimately makes it courageous and risk-takers. Sagittarius possesses the qualities like independence, kindness, and brilliance. Leo has the personality of liberality, self-confidence, willpower, and leadership.

Elements Compatibility

Air with other elements

Air signs can make an excellent connection to all elements to some extent. They can be benefitted from Air signs traits like critical and logical thinking, socialization, and adaptability.

Fire with other elements

Fire signs can teach other elements to be more fierce, confident, and optimistic. In return, fire signs can inherit traits like art, creativity, flexibility, and honesty from the air, water, and earth signs.

Water with other elements

Water signs make a great match to the earth signs. As water signs can add emotions and artistic quality, the earth can teach water signs to be more practical and grounded.

Water signs are incompatible with Fire signs. There will be a clash of emotions between water and fire signs as both are the opposite.

Water signs can partially connect to Air signs as both have different approaches to analyzing situations. Air makes decisions based on logic, whereas water makes on emotions.

Earth with other elements

Earth signs make a perfect match with water signs as both of them balance each other very well. With Air and Fire, Earth signs make a good bond.

Air signs provide ideas while Earth signs execute them practically.

Fire signs can teach Earth signs to take risks and do things with a fierce attitude, while Earth signs provide groundedness and patience.