Surya Namaskar Mantras – Meaning and Significance

Surya Namaskar - Sun Salutation

Surya Namaskar is getting highly popular with the name of Sun Salutation all over the world. It is prominent because it is called the ‘King of Yoga’ by great yogis. Surya Namaskar is a very systematic technique that combines the twelve asanas in a yoga sequence.

Surya Namaskar Poses

The solar plexus (located behind the navel, which is the central point of the human body), also known as the second brain, is connected to the sun. This is the main reason why the ancient rishis recommended the practice of Surya Namaskar.

The regular practice of Sun Salutation enhances the solar plexus, which increases one’s creativity and intuitive abilities. Moreover, as we can do it almost anywhere and it is relatively easy, it is one of the best things anyone could do to become fit. 

Below are the 12 Surya Namaskar Mantras and the significance of each step of Sun Salutation. The breathing technique associated with each pose is also provided. You should Inhale and Exhale through the nose while practicing Surya Namaskar Yoga

1. Pranamasana (Prayer Pose)


ॐ मित्राय नमः
Om Mitraaya Namaha

Meaning:  One who is friendly to all.

Breathing: Expand your chest and relax your shoulders. Inhale while lifting both arms up. Exhale while bringing your palm together right in front of your chest in the namaste or prayer pose (Anjali mudra).

The significance of the Asana:

  • Pranamasana helps maintain the balance of the body.
  • Relaxes the nervous system.

2. Hasta Uttanasana (Raised Arms Pose)


ॐ रवये नमः।
Om Ravaye Namaha

Meaning: The shining one, the radiant one.

Breathing: Breath in while gently lifting your arms in the backward direction.

Significance of the Asana:

  • Hasta Uttanasana stretches and tones the muscles of the abdomen.
  • Expands the chest resulting in the full intake of oxygen. Lung capacity is fully utilized.

3. Hasta Padasana (Hand to Foot Pose)


ॐ सूर्याय नम:।
Om Suryaya Namaha

Meaning: The dispeller of darkness, responsible for generating activity.

Breathing: Exhale, bend forward from the waist while keeping the spine erect till the palms are kept flat in line with the feet. Touch the knees with your head keeping the legs straight without bending.

Significance of the Asana:

  • Hasta Padasana makes the waist and spine flexible.
  • Stretches the hamstrings.
  • Opens the hips, shoulders, and arms.

4. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Equestrian Pose)


ॐ भानवे नमः।
Om Bhaanave Namaha

Meaning: One who illuminates or the bright one.

Breathing: Breathe in and stretch out your right leg back as far as possible and look forward. The right foot and knee should touch the ground and the left foot along with the level of hands.

Significance of the Asana: 

  • Ashwa Sanchalanasana strengthens the leg muscles.
  • It makes the spine and neck flexible.
  • Good for indigestion, constipation, and sciatica.

5. Dandasana (Stick Pose)


ॐ खगाय नमः।
Om Khagaya Namaha

Meaning: One who is all-pervading, one who moves through the sky.

Breathing: Stretch out your left leg backward, keeping your hands perpendicular to the floor, and exhale gently.

Significance of the Asana:

  • Dandasana strengthens the arms and back.
  • Improves posture.
  • Stretches the shoulders, chest, and spine.
  • Calms the mind.

6. Ashtanga Namaskara (Salute with Eight Parts Pose)


ॐ पूष्णे  नमः।
Om Pooshne Namaha

Meaning: Giver of nourishment and fulfillment.

Breathing: Pause breathing (No respiration)

Significance of the Asana:

  • Ashtanga Namaskara enhances the flexibility of the back and spine.
  • Strengthens the back muscles.
  • Reduces tension and anxiety.

7. Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose)


ॐ हिरण्यगर्भाय नमः।
Om Hiranya Garbhaya Namaha

Meaning: One who has a golden-colored brilliance.

Breathing: Gently Breath in and raise your head and bend the spine backward as much as possible.

Significance of the Asana:

  • Bhujangasana stretches the shoulders, chest, and back.
  • Increases flexibility.
  • Elevates mood.
  • Invigorates the heart.

8. Parvatasana(Mountain Pose)


ॐ मरीचये नमः।
Om Mareechaye Namaha

Meaning: Giver of light with infinite rays.

Breathing: Exhale, slowly lower your head and raise the body, the toes, and hands resting on the floor. (Inverted ‘V’)

Significance of the Asana:

  • Parvatasana strengthens the muscles of the arms and legs.
  • Increases blood flow to the spinal region.

9. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Equestrian Pose)


ॐ आदित्याय नम:।
Om Aadityaaya Namaha

Meaning: The son of Aditi, the cosmic divine mother.

Breathing: Breath in, bring the right foot along with the hands’ level, and look forward. The left foot and knee should touch the ground.

Significance of the Asana:

  • Ashwa anchalanasana tones the abdominal organs.
  • Adds flexibility to leg muscles.

10. Hasta Padasana (Hand to Foot Pose)


ॐ सवित्रे नमः।
Om Savitre Namaha

Meaning: One who is responsible for life.

Breathing: Exhale, bring the left leg also forward and come back to Position No. 3.

Significance of the Asana:

  • Hasta Padasana stretches the hamstrings.
  • It opens the hips, shoulders, and arms.

11. Hasta Uttanasana (Raised Arms Pose)


ॐ अर्काय नमः।
Om Arkaaya Namaha

Meaning: One who is worthy of praise and glory.

Breathing: Inhale while raising the hands overhead and bend backward

Significance of the Asana:

  • Hasta Uttanasana stretches and tones the muscles of the abdomen.
  • Expands the chest resulting in the full intake of oxygen. Lung capacity is fully utilized.

12. Tadasana (Standing or Palm Tree Pose)


ॐ भास्कराय नमः।
Om Bhaskaraya Namaha

Meaning: Giver of wisdom and cosmic illumination.

Breathing: Gently Exhale and come back to Tadasana or mountain pose.

Significance of the Asana:

  • Tadasana improves posture.
  • Strengthens thighs, knees, and ankles.
  • Relieves sciatica.