Chakra points are energy spots in the Human body. In Sanskrit, ‘chakra’ means ‘wheel’, and the exact definition of chakra is “wheel of spinning energy”, a whirling vortex like the powerhouse of energy. There are total 114 chakras in the human body and through these chakras, the energies flow. However, the seven main chakra points are more popular among yoga practitioners, and each of these seven chakras has its own distinct quality.

Chakra is vital because even a block at one point can cause illness. One must understand and analyze the function of Seven Chakras and the necessary steps that can be taken to keep the energy flowing. Each point of the seven chakras is governed by “spiritual laws” and “principles of consciousness” which can be used for building a positive life.

7 Chakras in Human Body

7 Chakras
7 Chakras In Human Body

1. The Base/Root Chakra – Muladhara Chakra

Colour: Red

Location: Perineum (Base of your spine in the tailbone area)

Association: It’s associated with earth and is related to earthly grounding and surviving physically.

Purpose: It controls fight response and financial independence

Blockage implication: Depression, fear, procrastination, cold feet, paranoia, defensiveness

2. Sacral Chakra – Swadhishthana Chakra

Colour: Orange

Location: Between the base of the spine and navel

Association: Circulatory System, lower abdomen, bladder, reproductive organs, and glands, kidneys

Purpose: It displays desire, sexuality, pleasure, creativity, and procreation

Blockage implication: Eating disorder, sexual guilt, compulsive behavior, emotional problems, impotency

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura Chakra

Colour: Yellow

Location: Few inches above the navel in the upper abdomen

Association: Digestive system, muscles, pancreas, adrenals

Purpose: It represents emotional stability and a feeling of confidence. The chakra also coordinates for joy, laughter, aggression, and power.

Blockage implication: Anger, Feeling of revenge, lack of direction, frustration, nervousness, ulcer, constipation.

4. Heart Chakra – Anahata Chakra

Colour: Green

Location: Chest

Association: Compassion, love, joy, harmony, inner peace.

Purpose: The chakra point is considered as the “heart of the soul.” People derive a feeling of love through Heart Chakra, and the feeling of unconditional love proceeds to solar plexus chakra. Even after that, it passes to a sexual spot where the feelings are released.

Blockage implication: Heart problems, Stoic, Lung problems, weak immune system, heart cancer, breast cancer, blood pressure, passivity, inhumanity

5. Throat Chakra – Vishuddha Chakra

Colour: Blue or Turquoise

Location: Throat

Association: Communication, creativity, self-expression, truth, judgment.

Purpose: Senses of outer and inner hearing, self-healing, innovation, transformation, purification

Blockage implication: Writer’s block, creativity block, fever, communication problems, infection, thyroid imbalances, neck problems, hormonal disorders such as PMS, mood swings, menopause and bloating.

6. Third Eye or Brow Chakra – Ajna Chakra

Colour: Indigo (a combination of red and blue)

Location: Centre of the forehead at the eye level or between the eyebrows

Recommended -  20 Benefits of Meditation During This Pandemic

Association: Question, perception, knowing, inner vision, intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think, decision making

Purpose: The chakra is for finding answers to the spiritual aspect of human life on earth and beyond

Blockage implication: Can lead to problems like lack of foresight, thyroid imbalances, mental rigidity, ‘selective’ memory, depression, fevers, flu, infections, hyperactivity, learning disabilities, and sleeping disorders.

7. Crown Chakra – Sahastrara Chakra

Colour: Violet

Location: Top of your head. (Coordinated with the cerebral cortex, central nervous system, and pituitary gland)

Association: Information, understanding, acceptance, bliss, inner and outer beauty
Purpose: The chakra is considered to be the point of connection with God and is used for the divine purpose and spiritual destiny.

Blockage Implication: This can lead to psychological problems like headaches, mental illness, neuralgia, senility, photosensitivity, coordination problems, epilepsy, varicose veins and blood vessel problems.

(Last Updated On: September 11, 2020)
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments