The True Meaning of Kundalini Awakening

Ida, Pingala and Sushumna Nadi

Anyone who knows about Kundalini and believes in it has this hidden desire to awaken it. They say that once Kundalini Awakening happens, it transforms an average human into a supreme being. That is probably why many people worldwide attempt this act of courage, determination, and sacrifice.

While they are quite occupied in their venture, there are quite a few of us who know very little about Kundalini and what exactly it means when I say, “Kundalini Awakening . . .”

What is Kundalini?

Let us first understand the meaning of Kundalini; it simply means ‘that which is coiled,’ and it can also be interpreted as ‘coiling like a snake’ or ‘coiled up.’ It is considered a vital force or energy we all hold. Kundalini is represented as a serpent coiled around Root or Muladhara Chakra, the first of 7 chakras at the base of the spine. 

Kundalini Awakening has been described in two different yet quite similar ways.

Seven Chakra Points
Seven Chakra Points in Human Body

Kundalini Awakening as per Hindu Dharma

The first description of Kundalini could be attained from the books of Dharma or religion. It associates Kundalini with the Seven Chakras that exist inside a human body. Chakras are these pools of energy that are guided by specific emotions. By maintaining the right mindset and emotional balance, we ensure the proper flow of energy in these Chakras.

There are many Chakras; two closely associated with Kundalini are – Sahasrara Chakra, situated on the crown of our head, and Muladhara Chakra,  located at the base of our spine. Naturally, energy flows from Muladhara Chakra to Sahasrara Chakra.

Kundalini is this passive energy that resides in Muladhara Chakra. The experts have often visualized this energy as a female sleeping snake. So, Kundalini awakening is like waking up the snake and guiding it from Muladhara Chakra to Sahasrara Chakra.

By Awakening Kundalini, we activate this intense passive energy in the Muladhara Chakra and direct it to Saharsa Chakra, causing it to change its residence or unite with the chakra.

Awakening of Kundalini as per Traditional Indian Medicine

According to Traditional Indian Medicine and Spiritual Science, the vertebral column can be divided into three segments when considered vertically. The left and right segments are called Ida and Pingala. These cavities run through the column, from the skull’s base to the lower back.

The cavities contain Nadis, which are pathways for energy flow in the human body. There are altogether 72000 Nadis that spread across the human body.

The middle portion of the vertebral column is called Sushumna. Unlike Ida and Pingala, Sushumna consists of a viscous, transparent fluid. At the top of a column is a knot structure that prevents the fluid from entering the brain, and at the base is a spiral-shaped muscle. It is the very segment that helps keep the fluid intact.

The muscle resembles a resting snake. The seven-eighth part of the muscle is spiral, whereas the one-eighth part is bent downwards like a tip. This one-eighth part is called Kundalini. So, awakening Kundalini refers to reversing the position of this part of the muscle, from downwards to upwards.

Ida, Pingala and Sushumna Nadi
Ida, Pingala and Sushumna Nadi

Awakening Kundalini causes the tip of the muscle to come in direct contact with the base of Sushumna. What the tip does is that it starts a pumping action, due to which the fluid in Sushumna starts rising. This fluid then surpasses the knot at the top of the column and enters the skull. It makes its way around the skull and exits it through Brahmarandra, a tiny hole located on the skull. It is also known as Burr Hole, and one can feel it positioned between the eyebrows.

The liquid then flows downwards through the cheeks, neck, and abdomen muscles and finally reaches the same spiral muscle where it all began. The entire process continues in the form of a fluid cycle.

What Happens After the Kundalini Awakening Happens?

The definition of Kundalini and the technique of awakening it might differ greatly from one text to another, but the impacts are more or less the same. Religious and medical experts believe that the body and the individual’s mindset transform once his Kundalini is Awakened.

There may not be significant transformations look-wise, but abilities-wise, the changes are extreme. The one who’s had his Kundalini Awakened can control his body and mind to limit the intake of fundamental things like food, air, and water as per his desire and still be healthy. He can cut out emotions like love, friendship, brotherhood, and so on and still maintain his sanity. He can travel the cosmos by letting his soul fly while the body remains on the ground. He acquires enlightenment and, quite possibly, even becomes one with God.

What is the process of the Kundalini Awakening?

Unlike other religious processes, Awakening Kundalini is not just about hiring a priest and conducting a day-long ceremony. It requires the individual to meditate extremely and for years. He also needs to master Asanas and Pranayams to bring his body to a peak physical condition. Chanting Mantras at specific times during the day or night is a basic task.


Apart from what he needs to do, there’s a long list of things he must sacrifice. He must give up his lifestyle, habits, friends, and family. He needs to live with himself and devote himself to his individuality and the supreme one. And all this needs to be performed in the presence and guidance of an experienced guru. Whatever the guru says, the disciple has to obey. And this is the only way.

As humans, we all desire to be special and superior to others, and this process seems to take us one step closer to what we want. Awakening of Kundalini sounds like an interesting thing to attempt, which is why many people are leaping at it.