Mudras and Mantras For a Deeper Chakra Meditation Mudra for chakras

In Sanskrit, Chakra translates into “wheel.” These “wheels” can be thought of as vortexes that both receive & radiate energy. There are 72000 Nadis, and the areas where these Nadis meet are called Chakras. There are seven major energy centers, known as chakras, in the human body.

The Chakras run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Emotions, physical health, & mental clarity affect how well each chakra can filter energy. This, in turn, dictates how pure the energy is emitted from different body regions.

Sound is a vibration. Thus, when you chant a mantra, you can feel your body vibrate, harmonizing all your seven chakras. You will feel energized, balanced, and have a stronger sense of health. As you chant a mantra, it brings transformation to you while leading you to more power, strength, and spiritual growth.


A mantra is a sound, word, or group of words that is considered capable of “creating transformation.” Traditionally, it has been used for both prayers and affirmations. “OM” is a traditional mantra that acknowledges all that is, without judgment. “Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu” is a prayer mantra to bring peace to all beings.

The Sanskrit word mantra consists of the root man – “to think” (also in manas “mind”) and the suffix -tra, meaning “tools or instruments”, hence a literal translation would be “instrument of thought.”

There are more than ten million mantras in existence. Some mantras are as short as one syllable. Others are several syllables long. The vibration om is one of the most well-known universal mantras. According to the ancient Vedic tradition, the vibration om contains every vibration that has ever existed – and every vibration that ever will.

Bija Mantra

Among many types of mantras, one of the most powerful and popular forms of a mantra is the Bija Mantra. ‘Bija’ means seed, so they are basic root mantras and these “seed sounds” are core sounds – and there’s one for each of the 7 chakra points. When you chant a particular beeja mantra, you release energy within that specific chakra – facilitating movement and vitality in your being.


Yogis have different methods to revive their bodies, but ultimately to draw themselves inward. Among many, ‘Mudra’ is a powerful tool for accomplishing this. The term mudra applies to the use of hand gestures during meditation that carries specific goals of channeling your body’s energy flow. Numerous known mudras have been developed over the centuries.

Mudra means “seal” or “closure” in Sanskrit. Different areas of the hands are connected with areas in the body and the brain. So when we place our hands in yoga mudras, we stimulate different areas of the brain and create a specific energy circuit in the body. By doing this, we help generate a specific state of mind. Hence, every chakra in our body has specific mudras and we are covering all mudra for chakras

Mudra and Mantra for 7 Chakras

chakra mantras and mudras

Combining the mudras with the mantras of each chakra makes it easier for any Yogi to reach that transcendent state more easily. Hence, here are the Mudras and Bija Mantras For a Deeper Chakra Meditation.

1. Muladhara Chakra (Root)


Gyan Mudra or Chin Mudra



2. Svadhisthana Chakra (Sacral)


Dhyana Mudra



3. Manipura Chakra (Solar Plexus)


Matangi Mudra



4. Anahata Chakra (Heart)


Padma Mudra



5. Vishuddha Chakra (Throat)


Granthita Mudra



6. Ajna Chakra


Kalesvara Mudra



7. Sahasrara Chakra


Sahasrara Chakra Mudra