What is Kundalini Yoga? – Origin & Benefits of Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini Yoga

Yoga literally means “union,” the union of body, mind, and soul, the union of Jiva with Paramatma, or union with divinity. Practiced for thousands of years, Yoga unites physical exercise, mediation, and breathing techniques that enhance well begin.

There are different types of Yoga, and no type is more authentic or superior to another. The different types and styles of Yoga include Ashtanga Yoga, Bikram Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Prenatal Yoga, Kripalu Yoga, Aerial Yoga, Restorative Yoga, Kundalini Yoga, and so on.

What is Kundalini Yoga?

Kundalini Yoga is one of the most powerful forms of Yoga known today. It is a physical, mental, and spiritual discipline that helps one to improve strength, awareness, and consciousness. It emphasizes expanding the individual sensory awareness and intuition to advance the individual awareness and merge with infinite consciousness. It deals with raising Kundalini energy.

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini is derived from a Sanskrit word that means ‘coiled snake.’ It is said that each individual possesses dormant energy, coiled at the base of the spine like a serpent.

This energy is manifested as the sacred energy of creation that remains inactive until awakened. It is thought to be the sacred energy of creation. Thus, kundalini yoga is a science of activating the dormant Kundalini energy that lies within us. It’s also a preliminary practice that makes us strong enough to withstand the great energy of kundalini awakening.

Kundalini yoga provides the energy at the base of the spine, a free, unblocked path to travel upwards to the higher energy centers. Kundalini yoga is a dynamic practice that comprises various asanas, mantra chanting, breathing exercises, mudras, bandhas & meditation. It seems complex but is systematic.

Once this Kundalini awakens, it penetrates the chakras (energy centers) one by one, from bottom to top & unites with supreme consciousness at the top of the head. It gives an individual a deeper, subtle experience. It can be particularly beneficial for those dealing with addictions.

Seven Chakras

As being said that human beings have seven main chakras running along their spine and holds divine energy at the base of their spine; Kundalini yoga practice awakens and release that energy.

The seven chakras are:

  1. Root Chakra – Muladhara Chakra
  2. Sacral Chakra – Swadhisthana Chakra
  3. Naval, or Solar Plexus Chakra –  Manipura Chakra
  4. Heart Chakra – Anahata Chakra
  5. Throat Chakra – Visuddhi Chakra
  6. Third Eye Chakra – Yajna Chakra
  7. Crown Chakra – Sahasrara Chakra

As Kundalini energy rises, it’s believed to help balance seven chakras and contribute to your spiritual wellness.

Origin of Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini yoga is popular and is practiced all around the world. It is also more precise and repetitive. Unlike other ancient religious texts, Kundalini does not hold any strict rules. It is said that kundalini yoga is originated thousands of years ago in India. It is believed that it comes from the Kashmir region of India, where Hindus worship Lord shiva.

The exact origin of Kundalini Yoga is not known. However, it is believed to exist from around 1000-500 BC. Before the physical practice of Yoga, historical records indicate that Kundalini is the science of energy and spiritual philosophy. And interestingly, many of the meditations in the Kundalini practice come from the Sikh tradition.

Traditionally Kundalini Yoga was not taught publicly. Students were required to withstand years of initiation before they were given access to the spiritual and physical lessons of Kundalini masters. So the science of Kundalini was kept hidden for thousands of years. And the practice of Kundalini yoga outside the selected community of Indian yoga masters and disciples was forbidden.

The practice of kundalini yoga was only taught from Gurus (Masters) to their chosen Disciples (Students) for over centuries. Masters sat down with students and gave an oral presentation of spiritual visions. This was a common practice in ancient Vedic society. It was treated as advanced education.

Kundalini yoga was first brought to the United States from India by Harbhajan Singh Khalsa, known to kundalini yoga practitioners as Yogi Bhajan, in 1969. Since then, it has been learned and practiced all over the world.

Benefits of Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini yoga is one of the oldest practices still known today. It is a journey from the base to the top of activating the fullest potential that lies within the body. Once it’s activated, it can benefit you physically, mentally, morally, emotionally & in all aspects of life. Some of the benefits of Kundalini yoga are listed below.

  1. Improves Concentration and Focus
  2. Increased vitality and wellbeing
  3. Creates balance in mind, body, and soul.
  4. Increases spiritual connection and awareness of the body.
  5. Control thoughts and emotions and reduce stress
  6. Improves cognitive functioning and circulation.
  7. Combats sleep problems.
  8. Expands lung capacity.
  9. Increased positive energy
  10. Eradication of Worldly Mindset
  11. Strengthens the Nervous System
  12. Calms the Fluctuating Mind

Kundalini yoga is the oldest form of Yoga that has been practiced only in the west. It is one such inspiring blend of spiritual, mental, and physical practices that incorporates vigorous movement, dynamic yoga postures, breathing techniques, as well as mediation and chanting of mantras. It mainly focuses on awakening kundalini energy through regular practice.