Ask Vedic Astrologer

    Ask Astrologer Ask Astrologer on iOS

    Understand what's going on in your life, your strengths, and challenges.

    Avatar (also known as Incarnation) in Sanskrit means – descent. It is the “appearance” or “manifestation” of God, Deity, or Supreme Self in an earthly embodiment. The concept of an avatar is most often associated with Lord Vishnu though Lord Shiva, Lord Brahma, and Goddess Parvati or Adi Shakti also have many Avatars or Incarnations.

    Let us understand the different types of Avatar Lord Vishnu has taken, 

    The first chapter of Goloka Kanda of Garga Samhita Narada talks about different types of avatars

    Sakshaty-Avatara and Avesa-Avatara are two different types of Avatars. When Vishnu descends on the earth like Lord Krishna, Lord Rama, and Lord Narasimha, he is called Sakshaty-Avatara.  When Lord Vishnu indirectly empowers life to represent him, that living entity is called an Avesa-Avatara – Like Naravada Muni, Parashurama, Vyasa, etc.

    Avatars are broadly classified into two kinds. When Lord Vishnu Himself descends on earth, He is called Sakshaty-Avatara. When He indirectly empowers some living entity to represent Him, then that living entity is called an Avesa-Avatara.

    Anshavatars and Purna Avatar are sub-categories of Sakshaty-Avatara,

    Purna Avatar: All qualities of Vishnu are expressedLord Rama, Lord Krishna, Lord Narasimha

    Amsarup Avatars: Lord Vishnu takes form directly, but He is manifest partially – Matsya, Kurma, Varaha

    According to Srimad Bhagavatam Canto 1 chapter 3, there are innumerable incarnations of Lord Vishnu. Some of the important ones, 24 Avatars of Vishnu, are mentioned in the chapter.

    Dashavatara of Vishnu

    Vishnu - Dashavatar

    From Innumerable incarnations of Vishnu, Rishis or Sages selected ten Avatars as a representative of rest; these ten incarnations are known in Sanskrit as “Dashavatar.” The Dhashavatara list of Vishnu is introduced in Garuda Purana (1st millennium BCE). 

    There are different versions of the Dashavatar list in different scriptures. The Agni, Padma, Garuda, Linga, Narada, Skanda, and Varaha Puranas list Buddha among Vishnu avatars. Some scriptures do not mention Buddha and Balarama in their list of Dashavatar. But, Vayu Purana replaces them with Dattatreya and Vyasa.

    The most popular ten avatars based on many Puranas are Matsya, Kurma, Varaha, Narasimha, Vamana, Parashurama, Rama, Krishna, Buddha, and Kalki.

    The Shiva Purana has Balarama on the list as 8th Avatar – Matsya, Kurma, Varaha, Narasimha, Vamana, Parashurama, Rama, Balarama, Krishna, and Kalki.

    1. Matsya Avatar


    Matsya is the half fish, a half-human form of Vishnu. According to Matsya Puran, Matsya informs Manu, the leader of the humans, of the great flood and helps him save all the motile living beings, the Vedas, and the seeds of all plants.

    2. Kurma Avatar

    Kurma_24 Avatars of Vishnu

    Kurma is the half tortoise half-man form of Vishnu. During the churning of the ocean (Samudra Manthan), he balances Mount Mandara on his shell to assist the gods and the demons in the churning process. He is also believed to have supported the weight of the cosmos on his back.

    3. Varaha Avatar

    Varaha is the half man and half boar avatar of Vishnu. In Hindu dharma, he slays the demon Hiranyaksha to save Bhudevi, the personification of the earth and restores her back to the surface from a sinking state using his tusks.

    4. Narsimha

    Narsimha Avatar of Vishnu

    Narsimha is the half lion and a half-human avatar of Vishnu. He was born to end the reign of the demonic king Hiranya Kashyap and establish peace, order, righteousness, and other elements of dharma on earth.

    5. Vamana

    Vamana and Mahabali

    The 5th avatar of Vishnu, Vamana, was a dwarf Brahmin. This avatar of Lord Vishnu comes to check the growing power of the demonic king Mahabali, which he does by tricking him during a sacrificing ceremony and sending him to the underworld.

    6. Parashurama

    Parshurama is a Brahmin Kshatriya avatar of Lord Vishnu. He is depicted as a sage with an axe in his hand. He was born to end the tyranny of the evil Kshatriyas, who misused their powers and made others’ lives miserable, and bring them to justice.

    7. Rama

    Lord Rama

    Lord Rama is one of the most significant and powerful deities of Hindu dharma and the lead character of the epic Ramayana. He kills the evil king Ravana to end his terrorizing rule and free his wife Sita, whom Ravana had kidnapped.

    8. Krishna

    Sri Krishna

    Lord Krishna is yet another major form of Lord Vishnu. He is known to end the reign of his tyrannical maternal uncle Kansa and his role as the advisor or the Pandavas and the charioteer and guide of Arjuna in Mahabharata.

    9. Buddha

    Siddhartha Gautam, later known as Gautam Buddha, left his family and all material possession in search of enlightenment. He founded Buddhism and taught people ways to end all kinds of suffering through the Noble Eightfold Paths.

    Srimad Bhagavatam 1.3.24 talks about Buddha avatar of Lord Vishnu. 

    तत: कलौ सम्प्रवृत्ते सम्मोहाय सुरद्विषाम् ।
    बुद्धो नाम्नाञ्जनसुत: कीकटेषु भविष्यति ॥ २४ ॥

    tataḥ kalau sampravṛtte sammohāya sura-dviṣām
    buddho nāmnāñjana-sutaḥ kīkaṭeṣu bhaviṣyati

    Translation: Then, at the beginning of Kali-yuga, the Lord will appear as Lord Buddha, the son of Añjanā, in the province of Gayā, just to delude those who are envious of the faithful theist.

    Some scholars also think Buddha avatar of Vishnu being – Adi Buddha, not Siddhartha Gautam.  

    10. Kalki

    Kalki_24 Avatars of Vishnu

    Kalki is the only avatar of Vishnu that is yet to be born. He will end all evil by defeating the demon Kali and start a new Satyayuga or Kalkiyuga. Kali is all the negative emotions and elements personified into one. Kalki is depicted as a warrior riding a white horse and holding a shining sword.

    Last section of Srimad Bhagavata Purana talks about Kali Yuga and its effects

    (Last Updated On: March 10, 2022)

    Ask Vedic Astrologer Online

    Ask Astrologer Ask Astrologer on iOS

    Ask Astrologer Online - Get Answers To Life's Troubles